• Leadership Awards

    Student Service Awards

    The Student Leadership Awards offer the New School community a wonderful opportunity to highlight outstanding student organizations and individual students across the university. All students, faculty, and staff are encouraged to nominate students who have shown exceptional leadership and organizational abilities.

    Thank you to all those who took the time to nominate our campus leaders and student organizations, and congratulations to all those nominated.

    Nominate a student leader to be honored at the 2018 Student

    Please contact leadandserve@newschool.edu for more information about the nomination process and awards presentation.

    Student Leadership Awards

    Community Service and Civic Engagement Award: By serving within and beyond the campus community, this student embodies the university’s ideals of social responsibility.
    Winner: Jordan Dunn

    Emerging Leaders: This student has at least two years remaining at The New School but has already demonstrated exemplary leadership qualities through his or her scholarship, community service, work with organizations, and/or commitment to the advancement of The New School’s mission and goals.
    Winners: Hattie Simon, Laura Walton

    Legacy Award: The recipient of this award has demonstrated outstanding leadership skills, actively promoted campus life, and created a sense of community on campus. In so doing, the student has created a legacy at The New School.
    Winners: Kieran Gannon, Jacqueline Aaliyah West, Erin Hayde, Natalagé Davis

    Outstanding Hall Council: This award is given to a residence hall whose Hall Council team consistently displayed concern for residents’ quality of life and focused on community development. The team positively transformed residents’ experiences through student engagement and programming.
    Winner: 20th Street Hall Council

    Outstanding Special Interest Community/Collective: This special interest community in our residence halls has a proven record of student involvement, community outreach, campus programming, and improvement of campus life.
    Winner: Sustainability Special Interest Collective

    Outstanding Student Leader: The Outstanding Student Leader of the Year is one who exemplifies extraordinary characteristics and ideals of leadership through his or her participation, involvement, and notable achievements on campus.
    Winners: Claudine Brantley, Elena Petrovska

    Outstanding Student Organization or Group: This group has gone above and beyond in fulfilling their goals in student involvement, community outreach, and campus programming.
    Winner: Public and Urban Policy Doctoral Student Association

    Outstanding Student Program of the Year (Non-Student Group): This award is presented to students who have developed and implemented an innovative program that significantly contributed to The New School during the academic year.
    Winners: Trash Talk: Samantha Bennett and Sarah Burns

    Outstanding Student Program of the Year (Student Organization/Group): The student organization or group that receives this award significantly contributed to the university through the creation of an original program.
    Winner: Interfaith Prayer and Meditation Room: University Student Senate

    Student Social Justice Campus Champion: This award recognizes a student who has promoted social justice through an array of activities, in either paid or unpaid work.
    Winners: Claudine Brantley, Sade Swift

    Student Sustainability Campus Champion: The winner of this award has not only integrated sustainability into his or her own life but has broadened awareness by initiating, developing, or participating in sustainability strategies around campus.
    Winner: Sasha Hodson

    Outstanding International Leadership at The New School: This student has sought to change our understanding of international cultures and communities abroad, contributed to community-led solutions to international and local issues, or demonstrated a commitment to cross-cultural exchange through participation in internationally focused university programs.
    Winner: Hanyan Guo