David E. Van Zandt was installed as the eighth president of The New School on September 15, 2011. President Van Zandt came to the university on January 3, 2011, after serving for 15 years as the dean of the School of Law at Northwestern University.

Presided over by Michael J. Johnston, chair of the board of trustees, the ceremony featured performances by students from Mannes College The New School for Music and The New School for Jazz and Contemporary Music.

This year's University Distinguished Teaching Awards were presented to four members of The New School's faculty:

Speakers included Henry Bienen, president emeritus of Northwestern University; Tim Marshall, New School provost; Susan Yelavich, assistant professor at Parsons The New School for Design; and Melissa Holmes, MS candidate at The New School for Public Engagement and a University Student Senate member.

The installation ceremony in Tishman Auditorium was followed by a community reception in the Vera List Courtyard.

Connect with the New School