Information On The Coronavirus

Recent Updates: The New School has released its academic plan for 2020-21 and a phased reopening plan for its New York campus. Please check the Parsons Paris website for information about our Paris campus. Learn more.

  • About Us

    Impact Entrepreneurship Team

    Jen van der Meer, Co-Faculty Director and Assistant Professor of Strategic Design and Management, School of Design Strategies, Parsons School of Design

    Neyda Martinez, Co-Faculty Director and Associate Professor of Professional Practice in Media Management

    Nicole Letelier, Strategic Advisor and Impact Entrepreneurship Fellowship Director

    We would like to acknowledge the many people who have contributed to the building of the Impact Entrepreneurship Initiative, including founding co-faculty directors Cynthia Lawson Jaramillo and Michele Kahane and founding staff director Elizabeth Werbe as well as the following faculty, administrators and staff: 

    Rhea Alexander
    Charles Allison
    Diana Ayton-Shenker
    Suzanne Bostwick
    Dawnja Burris
    David Carroll
    Desirae Colvin
    Merida Escandon
    Francesca Fiore
    Jamer Hunt
    Sujatha Jesudason
    Courtney Malenius
    Dana Martens
    Latha Poonamallee
    Jen van der Meer
    Elizabeth Werbe
    Mary Watson

    Our Funding

    The Impact Entrepreneurship Initiative is made possible through funding received from the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation’s Inclusion Open program. This program awards funds to organizations working to help female entrepreneurs and entrepreneurs of color achieve higher rates of success. The Inclusion Open program is a facet of the Kauffman Foundation’s Zero Barriers movement, which is based on the belief that all people have a fundamental right to turn an idea into an economic reality, regardless of who they are or where they live. Based in Kansas City, Missouri, the Kauffman Foundation is a private, nonpartisan foundation that works together with communities in education and entrepreneurship to create uncommon solutions and empower people to shape their future. It uses its $2 billion in assets to collaboratively help people be self-sufficient, productive citizens. For more information about the Kauffman Foundation’s Inclusion Open program, visit this website.

    Our Partners

    The Impact Entrepreneurship team welcomes opportunities to partner with organizations that share our commitment to supporting socially aware entrepreneurial leaders from diverse backgrounds. These partners include the following companies and organizations:

    Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, LLP
    TrustLaw, Thomson Reuters Foundation
    Brooklyn Law Incubator & Policy Clinic (BLIP), Brooklyn Law School
    Tech Startup Clinic and Blockchain Project, Cardozo School of Law


    An Ashoka U Changemaker Campus

    The New School is a founding member of the Ashoka U Changemaker Campus network, a global community of leaders and institutions working to make social innovation the new norm in higher education and beyond. An initiative of Ashoka, the world’s largest network of social entrepreneurs, Ashoka U envisions a world where Everyone is a Changemaker. To date, over 40 colleges and universities have been recognized as Changemaker Campuses. These institutions differ in size, age, institutional type, geographic location, and religious affiliation but are united in their commitment to transforming higher education through collaboration and thought leadership. They work collaboratively to break down the barriers to institutional change and leverage their influence to advance changemaking in all sectors. For more information about the Ashoka U Changemaker Campus network, visit this website.