The New School is building on the strengths of these departments to create an interdisciplinary approach to the social sciences, breaking down institutional barriers and offering students the flexibility to imagine a better future.


The New School for Social Research is dedicated to building and supporting a faculty distinguished by intellectual excellence and integrity. Over the years, the school has attracted an impressive range of academic figures, including economists Gerhard Colm and Adolph Lowe, political scientist Arnold Brecht, sociologist Hans Speier, and philosophers Hannah Arendt, Alfred Schutz, Leo Strauss, and Aron Gurwitsch. Today the faculty specializes in cutting-edge research and methodologies, helping students engage with the major issues of the day and create new models for a globalizing world.

Connect with the New School