Top
feedback
  • University Academic Calendar

    The New School academic year consists of fall and spring semesters and a summer term.

    This calendar displays the fall and spring semester academic schedules for the current year for most undergraduate and graduate programs.

    The university calendar is followed by the entire university with some exceptions. A few New School academic programs run on fall and spring semester schedules that differ slightly from the official calendar. Consult the pages below for dates and deadlines for

    Fall 2014

    Date Details
    Mon, Apr 7–Fri, May 2, 2014 Fall registration for continuing students
    Mon, Aug 18–Fri, Aug 22 Orientation and Welcome Week
    Mon, Aug 25 First day of classes
    Sat, Aug 30–Mon, Sep 1 Labor Day weekend—university holiday; no classes; offices closed
    Mon, Sep 8 Last day to add a class
    Mon, Sep 15 Last day to drop a class
    Wed, Sep 24–Thu, 25 Rosh Hashanah—Wednesday classes scheduled to start 3:50 p.m. or later do not meet. No classes meet on Thursday.
    Fri, Oct 3–Sat, Oct 4 Yom Kippur—Friday classes scheduled to start 3:50 p.m. or later do not meet. No classes meet on Saturday.
    Fri, Oct 10 Last day to withdraw with a grade of W (all undergraduate and Parsons and Mannes graduate students; Dec. 15 for all other graduate students)
    Mon, Nov 3–Fri, Nov 28 Spring registration
    Tue, Nov 25 Classes follow Thursday schedule
    Wed, Nov 26–Sun, Nov 30 Thanksgiving break
    Mon, Dec 15 Classes and exams end; only Wednesday evening classes scheduled
    Tue, Dec 16–Sun, Jan 25 Winter break
    Online Courses  
    Aug 25–Dec 15, 2014 Online Session A
    Aug 25–Oct 24, 2014 Online Session B
    Oct 6–Dec 15, 2014 Online Session C

    Spring 2015

    Date Details
    Mon, Nov 3–Fri, Nov 28, 2014 Spring registration for continuing students
    Mon, Jan 19 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day—university holiday; offices closed
    Tue, Jan 20–Fri, Jan 23, 2015 Orientation and new student registration
    Mon, Jan 26 First day of classes
    Fri, Feb 6 Last day to add a class
    Fri, Feb 13 Last day to drop a class
    Mon, Feb 16 Presidents' Day—university holiday; no classes; offices closed
    Sun, Mar 1–Sun, Mar 8 Mannes auditions and Mannes spring break
    Fri, Mar 13 Last day to withdraw with a grade of W for all undergraduate and Parsons and Mannes graduate students (May 16 for all other graduate students)
    Mon, Mar 23–Sun, Mar 29 Spring break (except Mannes)
    Mon, Apr 6–Fri, May 1 Upcoming fall registration
    Mon, May 18 Classes and exams end
    Fri, May 22 University Commencement (projected)
    Online Courses  
    Jan 26–May 18, 2015 Online Session A
    Jan 26–Apr 3, 2015 Online Session B
    Mar 9–May 18, 2015 Online Session C

    A printable version of this calendar, and anticipated dates for upcoming academic years, can be found in the Printable Calendars section.

    Summer Calendar 2014

    For the summer session, see the Summer Calendar page.

Connect