The New School for Social Research

  • Contact Us

    General Admission Contact
    The New School for Social Research
    Office of Admission
    79 Fifth Avenue, 5th Floor
    New York, NY 10003
    212.229.5600 or 800.523.5411

    Department of Politics
    6 East 16th Street, Room 711A
    New York, NY 10003
    Phone: 212.229.5747 ext. 3090
    Fax: 212.229.5473

    Chair: Sanjay Ruparelia

    Senior Secretary: Nancy Shealy
    Office Hours: Monday-Friday, 1pm-8pm

    Student Advisor: Camila Andrade Gripp
    View Advisor Office Schedule

    Download Department of Politics Handbook (PDF)


  • Chair

    Sanjay Ruparelia
    Associate Professor of Politics
    PhD 2006, University of Cambridge

    Department Members

    Banu Bargu
    Associate Professor of Politics
    PhD 2008, Cornell University

    Quentin Bruneau
    Assistant Professor of Politics
    DPhil 2016, University of Oxford

    Nancy Fraser
    Henry A. and Louise Loeb Professor of Political and Social Science
    PhD 1980, City University of New York

    Mark Frazier
    Professor of Politics
    PhD 1997, University of California, Berkeley

    Victoria Hattam
    Professor of Politics  
    PhD 1987, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

    Andreas Kalyvas
    Associate Professor of Politics
    PhD 2001, Columbia University

    Anne McNevin
    Associate Professor of Politics
    PhD 2006, Australian National University

    James Miller
    Professor of Politics and Liberal Studies
    PhD 1975, Brandeis University

    Jessica Pisano
    Associate Professor of Politics
    PhD 2003, Yale University

    David Plotke
    Professor of Politics
    PhD 1985, University of California at Berkeley

    Rafi Youatt
    Assistant Professor of Politics
    PhD 2007, University of Chicago

    Deva Woodly 
    Assistant Professor of Politics
    PhD 2008, University of Chicago

    Affiliated Faculty

    Andrew Arato
    Dorothy Hart Hirshon Professor of Political and Social Theory
    PhD 1975, University of Chicago 

    Michael Cohen
    Professor of International Affairs, Graduate Program in International Affairs, Schools of Public Engagement
    PhD 1971, University of Chicago

    Alexandra Delano  
    Assistant Professor of Global Studies, Eugene Lang College
    PhD, Oxford University 

    Federico Finchelstein
    Professor of History
    PhD 2006, Cornell University

    Carlos Forment
    Associate Professor of Sociology
    PhD 1989, Harvard University 

    Oz Frankel
    Associate Professor of History
    PhD 1998, University of California, Berkeley

    Ellen Freeberg
    Associate Dean
    PhD, Johns Hopkins University

    Lisa Huestis
    Associate Professor of Legal Studies
    Eugene Lang College
    JD, Brooklyn Law School

    Sanjay Reddy
    Associate Professor of Economics
    PhD 2000, Harvard University 

    Adjunct Faculty

    Ross Poole
    BPhil 1969, Oxford University

    André Simonyi
    PhD,  University of Ottawa