• Chair

    Anwar Shaikh
    PhD 1973, Columbia University

    Department Members

    Lopamudra Banerjee
    Assistant Professor
    PhD 2007, University of California, Riverside

    Paulo dos Santos
    Assistant Professor
    PhD 2007, University of London

    Duncan Foley
    Leo Model Professor of Economics
    PhD 1966, Yale University

    Teresa Ghilarducci
    Bernard L. and Irene Schwartz Chair in Economic Policy Analysis
    PhD 1984 University of California, Berkeley

    William Milberg
    Professor, currently serving as Dean, NSSR
    PhD 1987, Rutgers University

    Christian Proaño
    Assistant Professor
    Doctorate in Economics (Dr.rer.pol.) 2008, Bielefeld University

    Sanjay Reddy
    Associate Professor 
    PhD 2000, Harvard University

    Willi Semmler
    Arnhold Professor of International Cooperation and Development
    PhD 1976, Free University of Berlin

    Mark Setterfield
    PhD 1993, Dalhousie University

    K. Vela Velupillai
    PhD 1980, Cambridge University

    Affiliated and Visiting Faculty

    Robert Buckley
    Senior Fellow, International Affairs

    Michael Cohen
    Professor of International Affairs and Director
    PhD 1971, Political Economy, University of Chicago

    Sakiko Fukuda-Parr
    Professor, International Affairs
    MALD, Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy
    MA, University of Sussex

    Alec Ian Gershberg
    Associate Professor, Milano The New School for Management and Urban Policy
    PhD, Regional Science, University of Pennsylvania

    Darrick Hamilton
    Associate Professor, Urban Policy
    PhD 1999, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

    David Howell
    Professor, Urban Policy
    PhD 1982, Economics, New School for Social Research 

    Terra Lawson-Remer
    Assistant Professor of International Affairs
    PhD 2010, Political Economy, New York University Law & Society Institute
    JD 2006, New York University School of Law

    Richard McGahey
    Professor of Professional Practice, Urban Policy, Public Policy and Economics
    PhD 1982, Economics, New School for Social Research

    Shagun Mehrotra
    Assistant Professor, Environmental Policy and Sustainability Management
    PhD 2011, Infrastructure Economics and Urban Planning, Columbia University
    Adjunct Faculty

    Jamee Moudud
    PhD, 1998, The New School for Social Research

    Teaching Fellows

    Anthony Bonen

    Ellis Scharfenaker