• The New School Names Dr. Dwight A. McBride Next President

  • To The New School Community,

    On the heels of a fantastic Centennial Festival, we write with even more reason to celebrate. Our search process to identify the next president of The New School has successfully concluded, and we are thrilled to announce the appointment of Dr. Dwight A. McBride as the ninth President of The New School. He will officially begin his position in Spring 2020. 

    President-elect McBride is a deeply experienced academic leader and a preeminent scholar and award-winning author of numerous publications on race, literary studies, black studies and identity politics. He is currently the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs at Emory University, where he is also the Asa Griggs Candler Professor of African American Studies, Distinguished Affiliated Professor of English, and Associated Faculty in Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies.  

    He was instrumental in creating Emory’s strategic framework that prioritizes faculty excellence, a compelling student experience, and a strengthened connection between the University and the City. He has also advanced interdisciplinary connections, academic innovation and entrepreneurship.

    President-elect McBride was previously Dean of The Graduate School and Associate Provost for Graduate Education at Northwestern University, where he was also the Daniel Hale Williams Professor of African American Studies, English, and Performance. He previously served as Dean of the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences at the University of Illinois at Chicago, Chair of Northwestern’s African American Studies Department, and a faculty member at the University of Pittsburgh.

    A leading scholar of race and literary studies, President-elect McBride has published award-winning books, essays, articles, and edited volumes that examine connections between race theory, black studies, and identity politics. His book Why I Hate Abercrombie and Fitch: Essays on Race and Sexuality, a collection of essays offering contemporary cultural criticism, was nominated for the 2006 Lambda Literary Award and the 2006 Hurston-Wright Legacy Award. He is a two-time Lambda Literary Award winner and has been principal investigator on grants from the Teagle Foundation and the Arcus Foundation. In 2003, he was awarded Monette/Horowitz Trust 2003 Achievement Award for independent research that combats homophobia. 

    Most recently, President-elect McBride co-edited the posthumous books of two colleagues: Lindon Barrett’s Racial Blackness and the Discontinuity of Western Modernity and Vincent Woodard’s The Delectable Negro: Human Consumption and Homoeroticism within US Slave Culture. His research has been supported by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Ford Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Humanities.

    Dr. McBride is co-founder and co-editor of the annual journal, the James Baldwin Review, co-editor of The New Black Studies Series at the University of Illinois Press, and is currently completing a new book on Phillis Wheatley and her critics. He received his undergraduate degree from Princeton University and his MA and PhD in English from the University of California, Los Angeles.

    In making this announcement, our tremendous gratitude goes out to the members of the Search Committee. We have listed their names below because we want to call out the personal commitment of time, rigor, and integrity each member brought to this important and intensive effort. Our work began by openly and honestly engaging the university community. We then reflected what we learned in a dynamic position profile, and we actively sought out candidates whose backgrounds, experience, and values aligned with this moment for The New School.

    We believe we have found that individual in Dwight McBride. In every conversation with the Search Committee and its members, he evidenced his understanding of our university’s unique strengths and qualities and his ability and enthusiasm to elevate and advance them. He is an accomplished scholar, an experienced academic administrator, and an engaged, curious, and exuberant leader. He brings deeply-held values for inclusion, equity, diversity and social justice in higher education.

    He takes the helm at a time of unprecedented momentum for The New School. We want to take this opportunity to express our gratitude to President Van Zandt for his strong leadership over these past nine years and in the coming months. He has guided the university to become a much stronger, exciting and highly relevant institution. President Van Zandt joins us in sharing enthusiasm about Dwight McBride’s appointment, and together we look forward to introducing him in the spring.

    Search Committee Members

    Mariana Amatullo, Associate Professor of Strategic Design and Management, Parsons School of Design and Vice Provost for Global Strategic Initiatives
    Steve Bloom, Trustee
    Julia Foulkes, Professor of History, Schools of Public Engagement
    Maria-Elena Grant, Senior Manager for Operations and Special Projects, Marketing and Communication (BS Liberal Arts '16)
    Nancye Green, Trustee (BFA Architectural Design '73)
    William E. Havemeyer, Trustee
    Alexander Jutkowitz, Trustee
    David E. McClean, Trustee (MA Philosophy '03, PhD Philosophy '09)
    Ricky Tucker, Senior Writer, Marketing and Communication (BA Liberal Arts '14)
    Katie Tzivanis, Student, BA Politics and Urban Studies, Eugene Lang College of Liberal Arts
    Lungowe Zeko, Student, MS Media Management, Schools of Public Engagement

    On behalf of the Search Committee,

    Joseph R. Gromek
    Chair, New School Board of Trustees
    Co-Chair, President Search Committee

    Linda E. Rappaport
    Chair-elect, New School Board of Trustees
    Co-ChairPresident Search Committee

  • Contact Us

    To share confidential nominations or questions related to the search, please email newschoolpresident@spencerstuart.com

  • Read More

Submit your application


To apply to any of our undergraduate programs (except the Bachelor's Program for Adults and Transfer Students and Parsons Associate of Applied Science programs) complete and submit the Common App online.

Undergraduate Adult Learners

To apply to any of our Bachelor's Program for Adults and Transfer Students and Parsons Associate of Applied Science programs, complete and submit the New School Online Application.


To apply to any of our Master's, Doctoral, Professional Studies Diploma, and Graduate Certificate programs, complete and submit the New School Online Application.