Dean's List and Awards Ceremony

  • Each year, the Eugene Lang College community gathers to celebrate our thoughtful, dedicated, and engaged students. We recognize high-achieving, academically advanced students as well as their unique and groundbreaking work, from nesting oysters in the Hudson to teaching in schools in East Harlem and learning Khmer in Cambodia. And we encourage our students to continue to challenge themselves, to think deeply and critically about today’s tough problems, and to engage with their communities to effect change.

    Dean's Honors Symposium

    The spring 2016 Lang College Dean’s Honor Symposium is a conference at which students can present their academic work and co-curricular projects to the Lang community. Participating students applied to present their work in the fall semester. The work shows a range of academic disciplines and interdisciplinary areas; many explore critical histories as well as contemporary social issues, since social justice is at the core of our liberal arts education at Lang. Projects range from rigorous academic writing to civic engagement and social justice work to creative projects to exemplary work outside of Lang such as part of an internship or work experience.

    Dean's Honor Symposium
    Monday, April 18: 2:30-5:30 p.m.
    University Center, Various rooms

    Dean's List and Student Award Ceremony
    Monday, April 18: 6:00-7:30 p.m.
    Tishman Auditorium, University Center
    Reception to follow, also in Tishman Auditorium

    Dean's Honor Symposium  - Panel Topics/Locations

    The Violence of Everyday Life
    Caveh Zahedi, faculty advisor
    Storm Hurwitz, Global Studies | Giana Angelillo, Literary Studies: Poetry | Morgan Stevenson, Theater / Urban Studies
    Nowhere to Hide: Privacy in the 21st Century
    Colette Brooks, faculty advisor
    Nico Galvan, BA/BFA Politics / Jazz | Caio De Silva Sorrentino, BA/BFA Sociology / Fine Arts
    The State + Counter Identity
    Katayoun Chamany and Robert Sember, faculty advisors
    Haley Snyder, Culture and Media | Shi Fan, Theater | Aditya Singh, Economics | Holly Woodbury, Interdisciplinary Science | Barbara Byrd, BA/BFA Culture and Media / Fine Arts  

    Form / Meaning / Medium
    Robin Mookerjee, faculty advisor
    Alexandra Chirumbolo, Interdisciplinary Science | Andrew Egelhoff, Culture and Media | Marshall Malin, Literary Studies: Literature / Writing
    Resisting Hegemony Through Education
    Judy Pryor-Ramirez, faculty advisor
    Stephanie Orentas, Contemporary Music | Kelsey Salyer, Global Studies / Gender Studies | Karina Vahitova, The Arts: Arts in Context
    Injustice and Irresponsibility: Ethical Assessments of Governments, Police, and Corporations
    Doris Chang, faculty advisor
    Brenna Smith, Global Studies / Education Studies | Shana Sanichar, Politics

    Persisters: New Gender Narratives    
    Cecilia Rubino, faculty advisor
    Linda Xue, BA/BFA Philosophy / Integrated Design | Stephanie Ospina, Culture and Media | Carol Brown, Literary Studies: Writing / Psychology
    The Color of Courage - Performing Activism
    Alexandra Delano, faculty advisor
    Jersten Seraile, Theater | Nathalie Moreno, BA/BFA Communication Design and The Arts: Arts in Context (Theater/ Global Studies)
    All Sides of the River: Where We Are and How We Respond
    Michael Pettinger, faculty advisor
    Juliet Kleber, Literary Studies: Writing | Brian Remy, Literary Studies | Charles Franchino, Sociology  

  • 30th Anniversary Celebration

    2015 marked the 30th Anniversary of Eugene Lang College. The award ceremony featured a special celebration on the impact of the college. The ceremony highlighted the amazing work of our Lang Alumni and put forward creativity, ingenuity, and potential of our current students.

    Eugene Lang Words and Voices: 2013 Tribute to Mr. Lang

    In 2013, the Dean's List and Student Award ceremony celebrated our college’s founder, Mr. Eugene Lang, whose own journey has had profound impacts on the college and the world. Recent Lang graduate Irene Lee curated an exhibit exploring Mr. Lang's and Lang students' work in New York City, in the world, and in giving back. The exhibit included pages and excerpts from Mr. Lang’s speeches, graduating seniors’ maps of their intellectual journeys at Lang, photographs, and objects that together tell the story of the man, the college, and the more than 3,700 Lang graduates who have been shaped by his vision for education.