Parsons Paris Announces Formation of Advisory BoarD

Parsons Paris building

Paris, France, January 18, 2019 – Parsons Paris, the European campus of The New School’s world-renowned Parsons School of Design, today announced that it has formed an Advisory Board to provide guidance to university leadership on strategy and growth opportunities, help shape distinctive programming, and enhance the School's reputation around the world. Peter Price, Chairman and Chief Executive of Premiere Previews and a former Trustee of The New School, will chair the new Advisory Board.

Established in 1921 as the first American art and design school in Paris, Parsons Paris offers programs and courses that build on the innovative fashion; design; art, media and technology; and strategic design and management curriculum of Parsons School of Design in New York. Home to an international mix of students, distinguished French and European faculty, and visiting educators, Parsons Paris was the birthplace of the Parsons table, an icon of Modern design, in a studio led by the designer Jean-Michel Frank in the 1930s.

Members of the Advisory Board bring decades of experience in creative and consumer businesses, and serve as chief executives and other high-powered leaders in a variety of sectors, including fashion, beauty, the arts, media, retail, and education, among others. They reflect expertise across diverse industries that will help the university advance its academic mission and provide unique, immersive educational opportunities for students. The Advisory Board will hold its inaugural meeting on May 15, 2019 to coincide with the School’s annual year-end Fashion Show, which introduces the next generation of fashion design leaders to the industry. 

“The Parsons Paris Advisory Board brings incredible insight and connects The New School in increasingly direct ways with the global design, business and economic sectors,” said David E. Van Zandt, President of The New School.

“As The New School celebrates its Centennial this year, and Parsons Paris looks ahead to its Centenary in 2021, the Advisory Board will play an integral role in supporting an ambitious growth plan in Paris and our mission to provide a world-class educational experience for outstanding artists, designers, and scholars,” said Tim Marshall, Provost of The New School. “We are delighted that such a distinguished group will serve on the Advisory Board, and we look forward to working with them to create new opportunities for learning and innovation.”

"The Advisory Board will bring a fresh perspective that will help shape the next generation of leaders in design and other creative professions,” said Florence Leclerc-Dickler, Dean of Parsons Paris. "These exceptional Board members are highly talented individuals across a spectrum of creative industries. We are excited to collaborate closely with them in this newly formed role."

Peter Price, Chair of the Advisory Board, added “Members of the Advisory Board possess broad expertise and deep management experience in fields that are central to the mission of Parsons Paris and vital to the board’s success. I am excited to work with Provost Marshall, Dean Leclerc-Dickler and the Parsons Paris team to help shepherd the School’s continued success.”

Prior to his tenure as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the new media investment firm Premiere Previews, Mr. Price held senior leadership roles at the New York Post, Liberty Cable, and National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, among others. In 1986, Mr. Price received “La Médaille de la Ville de Paris” from President Jacques Chirac for his work advising the French government. He served as Chairman of the Board of Governors at The New School’s Eugene Lang College of Liberal Arts and as a member of The New School’s Board of Trustees. Most recently, Mr. Price was Chairman of Reporters sans Frontières in the United States.

The Advisory Board includes the following members:

Jonathan Anderson is the Creative Director of Loewe.

Miren Arzalluz is Director of Palais Galliera.

Corice Arman is a collector and head of Arman Trust.

Gérald Azancot is President of Groupe Fiminco and Fondation Fiminco.

Lorenz Bäumer is the Founder and Creative Director of Lorenz Bäumer.

Albert Bensoussan is Chief Executive Officer of Luxury - Watches and Jewelry for Kering.

Grégoire Blanche is Regional Managing Director for the European region of Cartier.

Jimmy K.W. Chan is Founder and Chairman of Semeiotics.

Madison Cox is President of Fondation Pierre Bergé-Yves Saint Laurent located in Paris France as well as the Fondation Jardin Majorelle in Morocco.

Paolo De Cesare is Chief Executive Officer of Printemps - Intercontinental Group of Department Stores.

Floriane De Saint Pierre is President of Floriane de Saint Pierre et Associés and Eyes on Talents.

Marie-Laure Djelic is Dean of the School of Management and Innovation at Sciences Po.

Olivier Gabet is Director of the Musée des Arts Décoratifs.

Leon Jakimic is President of Lasvit.

Margaret Johnston-Clarke is Vice President for Diversity, Inclusion and Corporate Communications at L'Oréal.

Arnauld Mitre is Co-Founder of Coorpacademy.

Matthew Pollock is President of InDigital Media Group.

Charlotte Rampling is an English actress.

Philippe Schaus is Chief Executive Officer of Moët Hennessy.

Provost Marshall, Dean Leclerc-Dickler, Parsons School of Design alumna and fashion designer Kay Unger, Chair of the Parsons Board of Governors, and Judy Price, President of the National Jewelry Institute, will serve as ex-officio members of the Advisory Board.

Parsons School of Design is one of the leading institutions for art and design education in the world. Based in New York but active around the world, the school offers undergraduate and graduate programs in the full spectrum of art and design disciplines. Critical thinking and collaboration are at the heart of a Parsons education. Parsons graduates are leaders in their respective fields, with a shared commitment to creatively and critically addressing the complexities of life in the 21st century. For more information, please visit

Founded in 1919, The New School was established to advance academic freedom, tolerance, and experimentation. A century later, The New School remains at the forefront of innovation in higher education, inspiring more than 10,000 undergraduate and graduate students to challenge the status quo in art and design, the social sciences, the liberal arts, management, the performing arts, and media. The university welcomes thousands of adult learners annually for continuing education and executive courses and public programs. The New School maintains a global presence through our online learning portals, research institutes, and international partnerships. Learn more at



79 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10003


Media Contacts:

The New School
Amy Malsin
212-229-5667 x 3094

Will Wilbur
212-229-5667 x 3990


Bookmark and Share