• Faculty and Academic Initiatives

    Faculty Support

    Named professorships honor distinguished faculty members and help The New School attract scholars and teachers of the highest caliber. The numerous existing named posts include the Donna Karan Professor of Fashion Design, the Henry Cohen Lecture and Professorship, and the William J. Ruane Faculty Fellowship.

    The Donna Karan Professorship at Parsons The New School for Design was made possible through a gift from Donna Karan, renowned designer and Parsons alumna. Donna Karan has played a crucial role in supporting the academic growth of Parsons as a member of its board of governors, as a guest critic and lecturer, and as an advocate and generous donor. Donna Karan Professor Shelley Fox spearheaded the creation of a Master of Fine Arts Program in Fashion Design and Society, the first program of its kind in the United States.

    The Henry Cohen Lecture and Professorship at Milano The New School for Management and Urban Policy are named after the school’s founding dean, who served from 1965 to 1983. The Henry Cohen Lecture focuses on public policy challenges and solutions for women, children, and families, particularly in impoverished urban settings. Peter K. Eisinger holds the Henry Cohen Professorship, which focuses on the same issues and is an endowed chair at Milano. Arianna Huffington, cofounder and editor-in-chief of the Huffington Post, presented the 2008 Henry Cohen Lecture, "The Road to 2008: Presidential Politics Today." The Henry Cohen Lecture and Professorship were made possible by support from the Uris Brothers Foundation.

    The William J. Ruane Faculty Fellowship in Urban Education at Eugene Lang College of Liberal Arts, funded by The Carmel Hill Fund, supports a faculty fellowship and student internships. The fellowship furthers Eugene Lang College’s dedication to civic engagement and inspires more students to pursue careers in urban education.

    Academic Initiatives

    A named gift can advance studies in a given field by creating an academic program, research center, conference, or public program. As The New School continues to expand and develop its curriculum, there is ample opportunity to support emerging academic programs. Named programs at the university include the Riggio Writing and Democracy Program, the Tenenbaum Leadership Initiative, and the Janey Program.

     The Riggio Writing and Democracy Program is an innovative model for undergraduate education that emphasizes literacy as an engine of democracy and reading and writing as a basis for civic engagement. The program, made up of writing workshops and literature seminars, engages and nurtures emerging writers at The New School for General Studies and Eugene Lang College of Liberal Arts.

    The Tenenbaum Leadership Initiative enables Milano The New School for Management and Urban Policy to offer a unique professional development program for executive directors who succeed the founders of their organizations. The initiative examines the challenges nonprofit leaders face with regard to generational changes in organizations. Fellows in 2008 included leaders from the arts, youth services, housing and community development, and health organizations.

    Established in 1991 by the Rothenberg family, the Janey Program at The New School for Social Research has supported fellowships for Latin American and Caribbean graduate students. The program also supports fieldwork and research in the region, an annual conference, lectures, and visits by Latin American scholars.