• Committee Members

    Committee members are appointed by the New School president to serve staggered two-year terms. The ACIR consists of two trustees, two faculty members, two students, and two staff members. Faculty and student nominations come from the Faculty and Student Senate, respectively, or through self-nomination. All candidates are asked to submit their résumés and cover letters describing relevant interests and background.

  • Faculty

    Charles H. Allison, Jr. Chair

    Charles is an associate professor of professional practice at the Milano School of International Affairs, Management, and Urban Policy at The New School for Public Engagement. He was previously a visiting senior lecturer at the Johnson School of Management at Cornell University, and is a Fellows program mentor at The Legatum Center for Development and Entrepreneurship at MIT. Since 2005, he has been chief executive officer of Commonwealth Biofuels (CWBiofuels). Earlier he founded Vision Consulting Associates. Charles earned an AB from Dartmouth College, majoring in geography with a concentration in environmental studies, before earning his MBA at Harvard Business School. He currently serves on the board of directors of WE ACT for Environmental Justice and the Executive Committee of the Dartmouth Alumni Association of New York City, and he is a member of The Partnership for a New American Economy and the Admissions Board at Harvard Business School.

    • TBD


    Bevis Longstreth

    Bevis was the 60th commissioner of the SEC, appointed twice by President Ronald Reagan. He served from 1981 to 1984. For more than two decades, Longstreth was a partner in the New York–based law firm of Debevoise & Plimpton, where he spent his entire career as a lawyer. From 1994 to 1999, Longstreth was an adjunct professor at Columbia University School of Law, teaching the regulation of financial institutions. He has been a frequent speaker and lecturer on various securities and corporate law topics. He is a former member of the Board of Governors of the American Stock Exchange, a former director of INVESCO, plc, and a former trustee of College Retirement Equities Fund. For many years he served on the Pension Finance Committee of The World Bank. He currently serves on the boards of Grantham, Mayo & Van Otterloo, New School University, and the Center for Public Integrity.

    • TBD


    Susan Sawyer

    Susan is an associate general counsel of the university. She handles a wide range of matters for the university, including commercial transactions, real estate, corporate and contract matters, global activities, partnerships and affiliations, intellectual property, and risk management and insurance. She joined the university as an assistant general counsel in 2001 and was promoted to associate general counsel in 2007. Before joining The New School, Susan worked for seven years at the New York law firm Baer Marks & Upham LLP in the commercial litigation department. She has a Bachelor of Arts from Lehigh University, magna cum laude, and a Juris Doctor from Columbia University.

    Ian Morlan

    Ian holds master's degrees in both philosophy and nonprofit management. He is employed by The New School in the Office of Budget and Planning.

    Student Representatives

    Lena Simet

    Lena Simet is a PhD Student in Public and Urban Policy at the New School, with a focus on social housing policies and intra-urban inequalities. Aside from serving as a student representative at the board of ACIR, Lena is the coordinator of the Global Urban Futures Project at the Milano School for International Affairs, Management, and Urban Policy, and functions as a teaching assistant in the Graduate Program for International Affairs. She has previously worked as a researcher for the NYU Stern Urbanization Project, and for New School Professor David Howell on a research project for the Washington Center for Equitable Growth.

    Lindsay O'Neill-Caffrey

    Lindsay O’Neill-Caffrey is a degree candidate for a Master's of Science in Environmental Policy and Sustainability Management in the Milano School for International Affairs, Management, and Urban Policy at The New School University. Lindsay graduated from Binghamton University, where she earned her Bachelor's Degrees in Environmental Planning and Political Science. She has also studied Geographic Information Science and Cartography at Murdoch University in Western Australia, as well as French at the Université de Nice in France. At The New School, Lindsay participated in the International Field Program in Cape Town, South Africa, was a graduate research assistant, and a teaching assistant under Professor Charles Allison for the graduate course Elements of Finance. She joined the ACIR at the end of 2014.

    Non-Voting Support Staff

    Tokumbo Shobowale, Chief Operating Officer

    Tokumbo became chief operating officer of The New School in November 2013. Prior to that, he served the City of New York as chief business operations officer, the Bloomberg administration’s lead official for implementing business-friendly practices. Earlier he was director of infrastructure and the built environment for the city’s Initiative on Rebuilding and Resiliency, a response to Hurricane Sandy. Tokumbo also served as chief of staff to the deputy mayor for economic development, overseeing more than a dozen agencies, and as COO of the New York City Economic Development Corporation. In both roles, he facilitated the city’s economic diversification and in particular the applied sciences initiative, which attracted Cornell-Technion to New York City and facilitated NYU-Poly’s creation of the Center for Urban Science and Progress. He holds an MBA from MIT’s Sloan School of Management, an MA from Columbia University’s School of International and Public Affairs, and an AB from Stanford University.

    Larry Woods, Office of Business and Finance

    Larry has served as a support staff member to the ACIR since he was hired in the Finance and Business Office as the compliance and risk analyst in the summer of 2010. He has brought to The New School his experience in finance, operations, and contract management and an academic background including a bachelor’s degree from Northeastern University and a master’s degree in public administration from New York University.

    Linda Hirst, Office of Business and Finance

    Linda is the director of Investments and Risk Management at The New School. Before joining the university in 2008, she was managing director at Depfa Bank, where she established the bank’s first U.S. Credit Risk Department and chaired its U.S. Credit Committee. Before working at Depfa Bank, Linda spent 19 years at Moody’s Investors Service, where she was a managing director and a member of Moody’s Rating Committee and Credit Policy Committee. Linda received her MPA from New York University and her BA from the University of Pennsylvania.

    Non-Voting Research Assistants

    Marjan Fadavi Ardekani

    Marjan Fadavi Ardekani is a PhD student in economics at the New School for Social Research and has been part of the Advisory Committee on Investor Responsibility from September 2015 as a research assistant. She holds BS degree in Economics, Money and Banking and Master’s degree in Economic Development.

    Baki Guney Isikara

    Baki Güney Işıkara is a PhD student in economics at the New School for Social Research. He holds a BS and MSc in economics from the Vienna University of Economics and Business, and an MA in economic and social history from the Vienna University, all with honors.