The New School
October 18, 2010

Dear New School Colleagues,

I am pleased to congratulate the faculty members who were awarded Innovations in Education Fund (IEF) grants for 2010-2011. Now in its second year, IEF is a competitive funding program designed to support faculty research and experimentation in curricular development and pedagogy. Of the 38 proposals submitted this year, seven projects involving a total of 17 faculty members were awarded grants, which were given based on the recommendations of a faculty review committee.

Shana Agid, assistant professor in Art, Media, and Technology, Parsons, Gabrielle Bendiner-Viani, visiting assistant professor of Urban Studies, Eugene Lang College, and Cameron Tonkinwise, associate professor of Design and Sustainability, Parsons, were awarded a grant of $7,300 to develop new curricular tools, resources, and a multifaceted teaching approach in which students learn to frame design processes in consideration of social, political, or cultural contexts.

James Briggs, part-time lecturer, Eugene Lang College, and Robert Kirkbride, associate professor of Product Design, Parsons, were awarded a $9,450 grant to develop AirSpace, a semi-permanent webcast booth for The New School that creates a mobile space for university-centered broadcast productions and special events.

John Clinton, assistant professor, NSGS and Milano, and Laura Briggs, assistant professor of Architecture, Interior Design, and Lighting, Parsons, were awarded a grant of $6,400 to continue developing an Interdisciplinary Pedagogy for Community Sustainability, based on The New School's finalist entry in the U.S. Department of Energy's Solar Decathlon.

Mark Johnson, assistant professor of International Affairs, NSGS and Milano, Fabiola Berdiel-Mintz, International Field Program Coordinator, NSGS and Milano, and Adriana Young, part-time instructor in the School of Art and Design History and Theory, Parsons, were awarded a $7,000 grant to develop Global Design Interface, a web-based social media platform that fosters international, multidisciplinary, and perpetual learning communities within the International Field Program.

Shannon Mattern, assistant professor of Media Studies, NSGS and Milano, Jessica Irish, assistant professor of Design and Technology, Parsons, and Jane Pirone, assistant professor of Communication Design, Parsons, were awarded a grant of $9,500 to further develop Urban Research Tool, a web-based and mobile mapping platform that facilitates collaborative research across multiple thematic layers of urban study.

Bhawani Venkataraman, associate professor of Chemistry, Eugene Lang College, and Jennifer Wilson, assistant professor of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, Eugene Lang College, were awarded a $5,350 grant to refine and implement assessment tools designed to test the effectiveness of pedagogical approaches within the interdisciplinary science curriculum.

Carol Wilder, professor of Media Studies, NSGS and Milano, and Dominic Pettman, associate professor of Culture and Media, Eugene Lang College, were awarded a grant of $5,000 to develop a Media Education Lab in Hanoi University, Vietnam, that will enable students at The New School and Hanoi University to improve media skills, learn about the cultural and political history of Hanoi, and research the state of media education in Vietnam.

The provost's office is proud to support these collaborative efforts of New School faculty to advance innovative approaches to teaching and learning. We look forward to hearing more about their work as it progresses. The next call for IEF applications will be at end of the fall 2010 semester, with a deadline of early spring 2011.

Tim Marshall

Tim Marshall

Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.