Parsons Paris

Parsons Paris.

2013 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers: Range


2013 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers: Range

Sheila C. Johnson Design Center
Arnold and Sheila Aronson Galleries

June 25 - August 1, 2013

Featuring work by 2013 League Prize Winners:
Luis Callejas, Lcla Office; Brandon Clifford and Wes McGee, Matter Design;
Marc Fornes, MARC FORNES / THEVERYMANY; Rafael Luna and Dongwoo Yim, PRAUD; Skylar J.E. Tibbits, SJET; and Bryan Young, Young Projects.

The Young Architects + Designers Committee, a group selected each year from past winners of the League Prize, is responsible for developing the program’s theme and selecting competition jurors. This year’s committee members were Benjamin Aranda, Seung Teak Lee, and Michael Szivos. The theme, Range, reflects the committee’s perception of young architects’ careers as explorations of “potential boundaries with practices that are radical, that search the edges of the discipline to find its limits.” The committee called for designers to express “the range [they] operate within and how that range reacts as [they] encounter perceived limits of the profession.” The winning designers explored the formal and methodological possibilities of “range” from large-scale landscapes to intricate objects.

The exhibition will also be open on the evenings of the lectures.

The League thanks the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at Parsons School of Design for co-sponsoring and hosting the League Prize exhibition and lectures.

For more information about the winning offices and their work, as well as this year’s program theme, Range, click here.

The Architectural League Prize is made possible with corporate support from Dornbracht, Microsol Resources, Monadnock Construction, Inc., Susan Grant Lewin Associates, and Tischler und Sohn; and by the Next Generation Fund of the Architectural League.
Architectural League programs are also supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council and the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.