Parsons Paris

Parsons Paris.


2014 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers: Overlay

Sheila C. Johnson Design Center
Arnold and Sheila Aronson Galleries

June 24 - August 1, 2014

Featuring work by 2013 League Prize Winners:
Young & Ayata; The LADG; SIFT Studio; Norman Kelley; Jenny Sabin Studio; Geoffrey von Oeyen Design.

The Young Architects + Designers Committee, a group selected each year from past winners of the League Prize, is responsible for developing the program’s theme and selecting competition jurors. This year’s committee members were Ajmal Aqtash, Beat Schenk, and Bryan Young. They asked entrants to organize their work under the theme of Overlay, as the term “directs—rather than merely reconstructs—process... Overlay is unique to the designer; the techniques developed are activated overtime with layered meanings to push architectural concepts…Thus submissions might include interpretations of overlay that vary from process to presentation to product to shape and establish your identity as a young practice.”

In addition to the committee members, the 2014 jury consisted of Preston Scott Cohen, Evan Douglis, Florian Idenburg, Jennifer Lee, Charles Renfro, and Annabelle Selldorf. Anne Rieselbach, the League’s Program Director, oversees the program.

The exhibition will also be open late on the evenings of the lectures.

The League thanks the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at Parsons School of Design for co-sponsoring and hosting the League Prize exhibition and lectures.

For more information about the winning offices and their work, as well as this year’s program theme, Overlay, click here.

The Architectural League Prize is made possible with corporate support from Dornbracht and Tischler und Sohn; and by the Next Generation Fund of the Architectural League.
Architectural League programs are also supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council and the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.