Faculty Awards and Recognition in AY11-12

Over the past academic year, a number of faculty members have received awards and recognition for their work from organizations outside The New School. If yours is not included, please feel free to email ProvostFRF@newschool.edu so that we can add it.

Alexandra Anderson, Art and Design History and Theory Faculty

  • Research Fellowship: "The Byrdcliffe Arts and Crafts Colony: Landscape and Aesthetics," Winterthur Museum Garden and Library 

Anthony Aziz, Associate Professor of Fine Arts

  • Solo Exhibition Commission: Some People, Indianapolis Museum of Art

Jacalyn Brookner, Fine Arts Faculty

  • Award Recipient for “The Fargo Project,” National Endowment for the Arts: Our Town 

Robert Buckley, Senior Fellow of International Affairs

  • Honorary Fellow Appointment, Homer Hoyt Institute for Real Estate Economics
  • Gates Foundation Consultancy on Urban Issues in Developing Countries 

Maya Ciarrocchi, Arts Faculty

  • Artist-in-Residence, Ucross Foundation, Wyoming
  • Artist-in-Residence, Lower Manhattan Cultural Council, New York

Simon Critchley, Professor of Philosophy

  • 2011 Leverhulme Visiting Professorship, University of Lancaster, England (declined)
  • 2011 Research Professor, Södertörn University College, Flemingsberg, Sweden (declined)
  • 2011–2013 Most Distinguished Scholar, Fudan University, Shanghai (declined)

Federico Finchelstein, Associate Professor of History and Director of the Janey Program in Latin American Studies

  • Best Book in Latin American Studies Prize, New England Council of Latin American Studies (NECLAS), Harvard University 

Sharyn Finnegan, Art and Design History and Theory Faculty

  • Herhusid Artist-in-Residence Program, Iceland

Julia Foulkes, Associate Professor of History

  • Harry Ransom Center Research Fellowship, University of Texas at Austin

Bill Gaskins, Art, Media, and Technology Faculty

  • Elaine L. Jacobs Endowed Chair in Visual Art in the James P. Duffy Department of Art and Art History, Wayne State University

Margarita Gutman, Associate Professor of Urban Studies and International Affairs

  • 2011 Book of the Year Nomination by literary supplement of Argentine newspaper La Nación
  • Regional Metropolitan Commission of the Council of Science and Technology of the University of Buenos Aires, Category I Research Award of the University
  • Honorary Advisor, Institute of the Americas History, School of Humanities, National University of La Pampa, Argentina 

Norene Leddy, Assistant Professor of Fine Arts

  • Commission: The Aphrodite Project: Re/working the Map, Bronx Council on the Arts 

Sarah Lichtman, Art and Design History and Theory Faculty

  • Swedish Summer Study Course, The Swedish Embassy

Bonnie Marranca, Professor of Theater

  • Erasmus Mundus Visiting International Scholar, Belgium and Germany 
  • Excellence in Editing Award for Sustained Achievement, Association for Theatre in Higher Education

Shannon Mattern, Assistant Professor of Media Studies

  • Visiting Scholar, Canadian Centre for Architecture
  • Field Research Fellowship, Korea Foundation

Lydia Matthews, Professor of Visual Culture 

  • Open Society Foundation Curatorial Infrastructure Workshop, Tbilisi/Batumi, Republic of Georgia
  • Fulbright Senior Specialist, University of Thessaly, Volos, Greece

Michael Metz, Faculty Lecturer, Foundation 

  • Solo Exhibition: snared-trapped and concealed, Tspace, Rhinebeck, New York

James Montalbano, Assistant Professor of Communication Design

  • Smithsonian Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum, Recognition (Clearview font family acquired by permanent collection representing museum’s first digital acquisition) 

Hugh Raffles, Professor of Anthropology

  • Ludwig Fleck Prize Recipient, Society for the Social Studies of Science
  • Orion Book Award Recipient, Orion magazine 

Evan Rapport, Assistant Professor of Ethnomusicology

  • Harry Starr Fellowship in Judaica, Center for Jewish Studies, Harvard University

Rachely Rotem, Constructed Environments Faculty

  • Best of Year Award Finalist with Phu Hoang Office, Interior Design Magazine
  • Core77 Design Award (Interiors and Exhibitions category), First Place (with Phu Hoang Office) 

Cecilia Rubino, Assistant Professor of Theater

  • Winner of Best Music, Best Production, Best New Musical for From the Fire, MTM Edinburgh/UK Musical Theater Awards, The Edinburgh Fringe Festival 
  • Cisco International Grant for production of SLAM 102: Verbal Velocity 
  • Named Artist/Facilitator for MAPP International, Harlem Stage 

Willi Semmler, Professor of Economics

  • Fulbright Professorship, University of Business and Economics, Vienna

Radhika Subramaniam, Director and Chief Curator of the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center 

  • Second SEED Fund Teaching Fellowship in Urban Studies, San Francisco Art Institute

Adam Swart, Faculty Lecturer, Arts in Context

  • Solo Exhibition: Crimes and Celebrations, The Ralls Collection, Washington, DC

McKenzie Wark, Associate Professor of Culture and Media Studies

  • Writer-in-Residence at the McLuhan Centenary Project, Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Micki Watanabe Spiller, Assistant Professor, Foundation

  • Create Change: Public Artist Residency, The Laundromat Project, Woodside, New York
  • Queens Arts Fund Recipient, New York State Council on the Arts, Queens Council on the Arts

Connect with the New School