2014 Self-Study Report

A key part of the decennial re-accreditation process is The New School's 2014 Self-Study Report.

To place the report into the broader context of the accreditation process, please refer to the other information provided on this website, especially The New School’s Institutional Self-Study Design. The self-study design provides the context and process for which the self-study report was developed and was approved by the Middle States in the early stages of this process. The accreditation process is laid out in the timeline found here.

The final self-study was submitted to the Middle States Commission in early February 2014. An external evaluation team will now review the self-study and visit our campus in April 2014. The team members are:

    Deborah Freund, Team Chair              
    President, Claremont Graduate University
    Kevin Conlon
    Provost, Columbus College of Art
    Erin Ebersole   
    Director of Institutional Research, Planning and Effectiveness, Immaculata University
    Heather Kelly Director, Office of Institutional Research, University of Delaware
    Bonnie Kirkpatrick Senior Director of Faculty Development and Support, Academic Director of Online Learning, Wilmington University
    Henry Mauermeyer Senior Vice President and Treasurer, New Jersey Institute of Technology
    Janice Strickland Coordinator for Student Conduct, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
    Ralph Wahlstrom      Chair and Professor of English, State University of New York, College at Buffalo

 To complete the decennial re-accreditation process, after the team complete their visit, they will make both oral and written reports to the university and the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE). The university will have the opportunity to respond to the written team report, after which the MSCHE will conclude this accreditation cycle with a letter on the status of The New School's accreditation.

Connect with the New School