• Board of Trustees

    The New School is governed by a Board of Trustees drawn from the ranks of leaders in civil society. The Trustees’ capacity to chart a course for the university’s future is exemplified by the roles they have in business, education, philanthropy, government, media, and other fields.

    The Board meets regularly throughout the year and participates actively in the rich array of public programs, performances, and university ceremonies that characterize The New School.

    • Joseph R. Gromek, Chair
      Retired President and CEO
      The Warnaco Group, Inc.
    • Charles M. Allen
      Managing Director
      Allen & Company
    • Henry H. Arnhold
      Arnhold and S. Bleichroeder Holdings, Inc.
    • Arnold H. Aronson
      Partner and Managing Director of Retail Strategies
      Kurt Salmon Associates
    • Franci J. Blassberg, Vice Chair
      Of Counsel
      Debevoise & Plimpton LLP
    • Steven H. Bloom
    • Dominique Bluhdorn
      The Altos de Chavon Cultural Center Foundation
    • Garry Crowder, Vice Chair
      Managing Partner
      Cortland Advisory Group
    • Jane DeFlorio
      Former Managing Director
      Deutsche Bank
    • Beth Rudin DeWoody
      The Rudin Family Foundations
    • Douglas D. Durst
      The Durst Organization
    • Fred A. Dust
    • Renaud Dutreil
      President and CEO
      Belleville Solutions
    • Susan L. Foote, Vice Chair
    • Michael E. Gellert
      General Partner
      Windcrest Partners
    • Paul A. Gould
      Managing Director
      Allen & Company LLC
    • Jeffrey Gural
      Newmark Grubb Knight Frank
    • Susan U. Halpern
      The Sirus Fund
    • William E. Havemeyer
      Havemeyer Management Services, Inc.
    • Robert F. Hoerle
      Managing Partner
      Stone Run Capital, LLC
    • Sheila C. Johnson
      Founder and Chief Executive Officer
      Salamander Hotels & Resorts, LLC
    • Michael J. Johnston
      Retired Executive Vice President
      The Capital Group Companies, Inc
    • Christopher Kuenne
      Founder and CEO
      Rosemark Capital Group

    Life Trustees

    • Eugene M. Lang
      Founder and Chair

      The Eugene Lang Foundation
    • Philip Scaturro
    • Julien J. Studley
      Studley New Vista Associates
    • Tomio Taki
    • Bevis Longstreth
      Retired Partner
      Debevoise & Plimpton LLP
    • Nancy Lublin
      Chief Executive Officer
    • Anthony J. Mannarino
      Executive Vice President
      Extell Development Company
    • Daniel T. Motulsky
    • Robert H. Mundheim
      Of Counsel
      Shearman & Sterling LLP
    • Charles R. Perrin
      Former Chairman and CEO
      Avon Products, Inc. and Duracell
    • Timothy L. Porter
    • Linda E. Rappaport
      Shearman & Sterling
    • Bernard L. Schwartz
      Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
      BLS Investments LLC
    • Stanley P. Silverstein
      International Development & Global Licensing
      Perry Ellis International Inc.
    • Mrs. James C. Slaughter
    • Malcolm B. Smith
      Retired Vice Chairman
      General American Investors Co., Inc.
    • Elliot Stein, Vice Chair
      Managing Director
      Commonwealth Capital Partners, L.P.
    • John L. Tishman
      Chairman Emeritus
      Tishman Realty & Construction Company Inc.
    • Kay Unger

      Kay Unger Family Foundation
    • Lilian Shiao-Yen Wu
      Global University Programs Executive
      IBM Corporation
    • William D. Zabel
      Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP
    • Judith Zarin