Areas of Study

Programs of Study

Students are required to complete one of the following majors or interdisciplinary programs for graduation. To see information about options and curriculum requirements, select an area of study.


For the self-designed Liberal Arts major noted above, students can elect to pursue a guided path of study in a subject. While students choosing the BA or BS in Liberal Arts may prefer an individualized major, some structured paths are available. Consult with an advisor to learn more.

BA students must complete at least 90 liberal arts credits and no more than 30 credits in non-liberal arts courses. BS students must complete at least 60 liberal arts credits and no more than 60 credits in non-liberal arts courses (defined as studio and practice-based courses and internships). Learn more about general degree requirements, including double majors, dual degrees such as the BA/BFA, double minors, and BA/MA programs.

Minors and Optional Areas of Study

All undergraduates at the university except those who major in Liberal Arts can select a minor or a double major. Undergraduate students from any division of the university can select a minor from Lang’s offerings. Similarly, Lang students can select a minor from those offered in other divisions, provided they meet the prerequisites and related requirements. Students considering pursuing a minor should speak with their advisors as soon as possible. Note that students cannot minor in their own major. In addition, a student who majors in an area of study with multiple concentrations (e.g., The Arts) cannot minor in the same area of study with a different concentration.

Students can focus on the following subjects as minors (non-Liberal Arts majors) or in a self-designed program (Liberal Arts majors):

Minors other than those listed above may be approved. Visit this site again for updates or contact an academic advisor to discuss your interests.

Visit the Department of Foreign Languages for information about foreign language offerings.

Connect with the New School