The New School for
Jazz and Contemporary Music

Sonny Rollins Ensemble

This ensemble is dedicated to the music of one of jazz’s most pivotal saxophonist/composers. Particular attention is paid to Rollins’s early work as a leader, including compositions such as “Oleo,” “St. Thomas,” “Valtz Hot,” “Airegin,” “Strode Road,” “Newk’s Fadeaway,” “Tenor Madness,” “Blue Seven,” and “Pent-Up House.” Standards known for Rollins’ interpretations of them are also played, including “The Way You Look Tonight,” “You Don’t Know What Love Is,” “Easy Living,” “Star Eyes,” “I’ve Got You Under my Skin,” “I’ll Remember April,” “What Is This Thing Called Love,” “Softly as in a Morning Sunrise,” “Four,” “Woody ’n’ You,” “You Stepped Out of a Dream,” and “All the Things You Are.” Instrumentalists and vocalists are encouraged to audition. One Rollins solo transcription is required during the semester. Final enrollment is at the discretion of the instructor. 2 credits (Fall only)

Connect with the New School