Transfer Ownership of Student Google Content

Overview

Your New School Google Apps account expires when you graduate or leave The New School. Students who have graduated will receive alumni New School Google Apps accounts in August following graduation and will be provided some time to migrate content from their student accounts to their alumni account.

Following is a description of what happens to Google content, and the options and instructions on how to retain it. Note that in most cases, steps must be taken PRIOR to the deletion of the account.

Google Mail

All mail will be deleted along with the account. If needed, Google Mail can be manually migrated from one Google account to another via IMAP.

INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO DO THIS (courtesy Lifehacker website)

Google Docs

When a Google account is deleted, all Google Docs owned by that account are deleted too. This deletion is irreversible; there is no way to restore the documents once they have been removed.

To retain documents, prior to the deletion of a Google account:

1) Collaborators can make a copy of documents shared with them.

Add another Google account you own as a collaborator of your documents. Collaborators (others with whom the document has been shared) can make a copy of the document.

INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO DO THIS  

2) Docs can be downloaded.

Docs can be downloaded and stored locally on a workstation. From there you can upload your files into another Google account.

INSTUCTIONS ON HOW TO DO THIS

Google Calendar

When a Google account is deleted, the primary calendar belonging to that account will also be deleted. Shared calendars created by the user won't be deleted, but to retain management of the shared calendar, prior to the deletion of a Google account, another user must be given permission to “Make changes AND manage sharing” on the shared calendar(s).

INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO DO THIS  

Google Contacts

When a Google account is deleted, the contacts belonging to that account will also be deleted. To retain personal contacts, prior to the deletion of a Google account, export personal contacts into a file. The file can be saved as an archive or imported into another user’s Google account.

INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO DO THIS  

Google Groups

A Google Group owned by a deleted user’s account will not be deleted. However, please note that only New School Google Apps accounts may be included as members in New School Google Apps Groups. As such you may not transfer Group ownership to external accounts.

Google Sites

A Google Site owned by a deleted user’s account will not be deleted. However, in order for the site to be managed, prior to the deletion of a Google account, another user must to given the permission of “is owner.”

INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO DO THIS