Transfer Ownership of Faculty/Staff Google Content

Overview

Faculty and staff accounts are deleted when employment at The New School ends.

Following is a description of what happens to Google content, and the options and instructions on how to retain it. Note that in most cases, steps must be taken PRIOR to the deletion of the account.

Note for faculty and staff: New School business information that is classified as “Restricted” or “Confidential” must not be moved out of your New School Google Mail account. For definitions of these classifications, including examples, see Information Classifications at The New School.

Google Mail

All mail will be deleted along with the account. If needed, Google Mail can be manually migrated from one Google account to another via IMAP.

 INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO DO THIS (courtesy Lifehacker website)

Google Docs

When a Google account is deleted, all Google Docs owned by that account are deleted too. This deletion is irreversible; there is no way to restore the documents once they have been removed.

To retain documents, prior to the deletion of a Google account:

1) The owner can reassign ownership of his or her documents.

The owner can transfer ownership of documents, individually or by folder, to any other user(s) in the domain.

INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO DO THIS

2) Collaborators can make a copy of documents shared with them.

Collaborators (others with whom the document has been shared) can make a copy of the document. The new copy can then be re-shared with other collaborators.

INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO DO THIS  

3) An executor can be established.

The Google Apps Administrator can bulk-transfer ownership of an account’s documents to another domain user’s account. The executor can then transfer individual document ownership on a case-by-case basis.

DOWNLOAD FORM: Request to Transfer Ownership of Google Docs

Google Calendar

When a Google account is deleted, the primary calendar belonging to that account will also be deleted. Shared calendars created by the user won't be deleted, but to retain management of the shared calendar, prior to the deletion of a Google account, another user must be given permission to “Make changes AND manage sharing” on the shared calendar(s).

INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO DO THIS  

Google Contacts

When a Google account is deleted, the contacts belonging to that account will also be deleted. To retain personal contacts, prior to the deletion of a Google account, export personal contacts into a file. The file can be saved as an archive or imported into another user’s Google account.

INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO DO THIS  

Google Groups

A Google Group owned by a deleted user’s account will not be deleted.

To retain the ability to manage the group:

1) Prior to the deletion of a Google account, the original owner can assign the role of “owner” to a member of the group.

INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO DO THIS  

2) The Google Apps Administrator can grant the ownership role to a member of the group.

 TO REQUEST THIS, Contact IT Service Desk (formerly Help Desk) at itservicedesk@newschool.edu.

Google Sites

A Google Site owned by a deleted user’s account will not be deleted. However, in order for the site to be managed, prior to the deletion of a Google account, another user must to given the permission of “is owner.”

INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO DO THIS