Spring 2013 Ensemble and Recital Series: Maasa Kato, piano

4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Martha Kato_Senior Recital Spring 13

New School Jazz student Maasa Kato (piano) presents her senior recital.

Maasa is going to play 6 original compositions.

Born in Nagoya, Japan in 1989, Martha Kato is a pianist and composer. She began classical piano and composition when she was very young. In her senior year at the Music Institute of Nagoya City Kikuzato Senior High School, she decided to shift to jazz from classical music. After graduating high school in 2008, she started performing in Nagoya. In 2009, she moved to New York where she began her studies on a scholarship at The New School for Jazz and Contemporary Music. She has studied with Kevin Hays, Reggie Workman, George Cables, Aaron Goldberg, Ben Street, Ari Hoenig and Jane Ira Bloom. In 2011, she has performed as a pianist of Mid-Atlantic Collegiate Jazz Orchestra at Jazz Education Network Conference in New Orleans, at Bern Jazz Festival in Switzerland with Yacine Boulares Quartet, and at Mary Lou Williams Women In Jazz Festival at the Kennedy Center Millennium Stage. Her composition "After The Rain" has received honorable mention for 2012 ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards.


Jazz and Contemporary Music Performance Space, Arnhold Hall, 55 West 13th Street, 5th floor

Free; no tickets or reservations required; seating is first-come first-served

< back
Connect with the New School