Honors and Achievements

Faculty and Staff Achievements

2010 New School Honorary Degrees

Honorary degrees were presented at Commencement, on May 21, 2010, at the Theater at Madison Square Garden.

Bruce Edward Babbitt, conservationist and environmentalist
Jerome Seymour Bruner, psychologist and educator
Chen Yi, composer, violinist, and teacher
Rita R. Colwell, scientist and educator
Jeremy Grantham, economist and philanthropist
Alfredo Jaar, artist, architect, and filmmaker

2010 Honorary Degrees

2010 Distinguished Service Awards

The awards were presented at the October 20, 2010, Annual Meeting of the board of trustees and boards of governors.

Beth Rudin DeWoody
Nancy A. Garvey
Joseph R. Gromek
Ilse Melamid

2010 University Distinguished Teaching Awards

The awards were presented at Convocation, on September 2, 2010, in the John L. Tishman Auditorium.

Richard A. Boukas, The New School for Jazz and Contemporary Music
Peter Eisinger, Milano The New School for Management and Urban Policy
Ann Snitow, Eugene Lang College The New School for Liberal Arts
Ken Y. Tanabe, Parsons The New School for Design

The Aims of Education speech was given by McKenzie Wark, associate professor of history at The New School for Public Engagement.

2010 University Distinguished Teaching Awards

2010 University Service Excellence Awards

Robert McAlpin, The New School for Drama
Jennifer McHugh, Parsons The New School for Design
Janelle McKenzie, The New School for Public Engagement
Carlos Sepulveda, Facilities Management
Jennifer Smith, Communications and External Affairs

2010 Distinguished Service Awards

2010 Parsons Honorees:
Parsons Benefit and Fashion Show

On May 3, 2010, Parsons The New School for Design honored Dr. William K. Fung, group managing director of Li & Fung Limited, and designer Vera Wang. Richard Darling, president of LF USA, presented Dr. Fung with his award, and Candy Pratts Price, executive fashion director of Style.com, gave Ms. Wang her award. The event was held at Chelsea Piers, New York City.

2010 Parsons Fashion Benefit

2010 Fiorello H. LaGuardia Award Dinner

The LaGuardia Award Dinner provides support for more than 130 academic scholarships for New School students. The 2010 LaGuardia Award Dinner, held on February 25, honored Joan Ganz Cooney, co-founder of Sesame Workshop and chair of its executive committee. Due to severe weather conditions, scheduled keynote speaker Al Franken delivered his remarks remotely via video. The event took place at the Mandarin Oriental New York.