Storm Warning

Tuesday, January 27, 2015: 11:00 a.m.
The New School will be open for all classes and activities on Wednesday, January 28th. All administrative offices will be open for regular business hours. learn more

  • New School Minute

    At Alumni Day 2014, New School faculty from every school presented their timely and celebrated research in a series of rapid-fire 60-second lectures. Watch videos of all lectures.

    Faculty Speakers

    Jane Ira Bloom, Professor, Jazz and Contemporary Music
    Deep Edges; Improvising Slow Songs

    William Bevington, Associate Professor of Information Mapping

    Stephanie Browner, Dean, Eugene Lang College
    New York Poems in a New School Minute

    Sumita Chakravarty, Associate Professor of Media Studies
    Crossing Borders: Transnational Media Studies

    Erin Cho, Associate Professor of Design and Management
    Empathetic Creativity, Transforming Challenges to Opportunities

    Alice Chun, Assistant Professor of Material Culture
    Ground Rules in Humanitarian Design

    Simon Collins, Dean of the School of Fashion
    Stories. Not brands. Not designers.

    Sakiko Fukuda-Parr, Professor of International Affairs
    The Power of Numbers: The Intended and Unintended Consequences of the Millennium Development Goals

    Jeffrey Goldfarb, Michael E. Gellert Professor of Sociology
    The New School, Public Seminar, and Me and You

    Julia Gorton, Assistant Professor, School of Art, Media, and Technology
    It's All a Blur

    La Tanya Hall, Professor, Jazz and Contemporary Music
    Storytelling Through Song

    Darrick Hamilton, Associate Professor of Economics and Urban Policy
    Rhetoric, Reality and Race

    Tanya Kalmanovitch, Professor, Mannes College
    Does Music Matter?

    Mark Larrimore, Associate Professor of Religion
    On the Job: The Book of Job and Seminar Pedagogy

    Brian McGrath, Dean of the School of Constructed Environments and Professor of Urban Design
    Rice Paddies and Parking Lots

    Inessa Medzhibovskaya, Associate Professor of Liberal Studies and Literary Studies
    How Literature Saves Our Lives

    William Milberg, Dean of The New School for Social Research and Professor of Economics
    Outsourcing Economics

    Ivan Ramirez, Assistant Professor of Environmental Health
    Climate, Poverty and Cholera Epidemics

    Evan Rapport, Assistant Professor of Ethnomusicology
    Fifty-Nine Seconds of Hearing Punk as Blues

    Kathryn Rossetter, Department Head, Acting
    Exploring the Human Condition

    Nitin Sawhney, Assistant Professor of Media Studies
    Engaging through Making

    Lisa Servon, Professor of Urban Policy
    Breaking the Banks

    Ethan Silverman, Assistant Professor, Design and Technology

    Chris Stover, Assistant Professor of Music in Theory and Composition
    Affect and Improvising Bodies

    Joel Towers, Executive Dean, Parsons

    Sven Travis, Associate Professor of Media and Design
    Creativity Through Computation

    Alba Quezada, Associate Teaching Professor, Voice and Speech
    Freeing the Natural Voice

  • Alumni News