The New School University Faculty Senate

Senators Only Meeting February 3, 2009

Minutes

Jim Miller opened the meeting by stating that we were supposed to have a consultative process in regard to the handbook; Joe Westphal was in favor of this. Instead, there are a number of versions of a tenure review process, and committees have been formed without an approved set of procedures for tenure and review.

He also said that the winter break came and interrupted the process that was ongoing; the deans were in regular conversation, and some groups formed to keep the momentum going.

We need to expand our capacity in the Senate to represent the faculty; there are various proposals that have been made to accomplish this. We must communicate with the faculty.

Jim Miller stated that by the end of the week, all faculty ought to have a copy of the minimum requirements document. We are considering a committee of executive faculty to strengthen the voice of the faculty.

Bea stated that we have by-laws, and ought to live by them. Chairs can appoint any committee that is desired; some divisions might already have working groups that would be appropriate, others might want to hold elections.

The executive committee, it was stated by the co-chairs, would be a part of the Senate, and we should discuss whether people on the committee should be elected by divisions.

It was decided that the interim provost search committee should consist of the following: David Howell, Jim Miller, Julia Foulkes, Jennifer Wilson, Keith Buhl, and Sven Travis.

Upon a motion by Jim Miller, duly seconded, the Senate passed a motion that the interim provost should have a minimum term of one and a half years, and that no search for a permanent provost should start until September 2009. The vote in favor was unanimous.

The Senate adjourned at 10:00 am.